News Posted in Sport.

Midsummer 5 hailed a ‘cracker’ as hundreds complete Goodwood lap

Hundreds of runners took on a track with a difference in the 31st running of the Midsummer 5.


The five-mile road race, which is organised by Chichester Runners and AC Club, starts and ends at Lavant Memorial Hall while taking in a lap of the famous Goodwood motor circuit.


More than 300 adults and juniors took part in the event, which organisers hailed as a ‘cracker’ as the warm summer weather helped ensure a record number of finishers.


The race was started by Jen Evans-Brewer, of the Goodwood Health Club, who, along with the Run Company, were the event sponsors.


After setting off from the village green, a group of six runners were slowly making their mark felt. The leading group included James Turner (Brighton & Hove AC), James Baker, Mike Houston and William Boutwood (all Chichester Runners & AC), Simon Gill (Tone Zone) and Julian Manning (Denmead Striders).


At the midway mark, Turner put his foot on the gas and came home in first place in a time of 25 minutes 48.


Baker, a previous winner of this event, was some 32 seconds behind with Houston (third), Boutwood (fourth) and Gill (fifth).


Vet 40 runners featured well in the top ten positions with Baker first in that category.


The winner of the Vet 50 was Jim Garland, also from the home club, in a time of 30:49 with Phil Guest of Portsmouth Joggers first in the over 60s category.


The women’s event was dominated by Chichester Runners with Alice Cox-Rusbridge (32:38), Jane Harrop (32:48) and Imogen Mathews (33:00) taking the podium spots. Tone Zone’s Jessica Thompson was a further minute and a half behind in fourth.


In the Veteran Categories, the winners were Charlotte Laing, Cathy Ulliott and Jenny Hughes. As with the men’s event, the home club had the leading team of women runners.


All the above awards were made at the traditional prize giving event by David Worcester, president of the Chichester Runners, at the Memorial Hall.


Not only did he congratulate all the winners but all the athletes and volunteers who had contributed to an extremely successful evening. A provisional date for next year’s race is Wednesday, June 19.

Posted in Sport.