News Posted in Sport.

Lass the star in points race

Olympians and international champions sailed into Chichester Harbour for a fin-filled weekend of classic keel boat racing.


Last week Itchenor Sailing Club held its annual Points Week, with crews on the 56 boats taking part.


With conditions perfect, 25 X One Designs raced for daily trophies and the Benson Platter for the week’s winner. 17 Sunbeams, celebrating their 95th anniversary, competed for the Wengen Cow Bell, while the Buccaneer Trophy was the target for the 14 Swallows.


The first race on Monday saw current XOD champion John Tremlett drive Lass to victory followed by former Benson Platter winner, Mark Palmer in Sweet X. Andy Oddie, himself a national champion, was third in Magic Dragon.


Former XOD champion Alastair Ashford visiting from Antigua showed well on Foxglove but navigation let him down as a mark was missed.


On Tuesday, the Ashfords made no errors to seal the win, followed by another former XOD champion Michael Martell sailing Astralita with Lass again on the podium.


By Wednesday Lass bounced back. And with racing postponed on Thursday it was left to two races on Friday to decide the winner. The first race podium was Sweet X, Foxglove and Astralita.


But in the tense final, Lass made no mistake with a victory followed by Sweet X to take the title with Foxglove second overall and Sweet X third.


In the Swallow fleet current and past national champions joined ex-world champions to compete for the overall Buccaneer Trophy.


Class stalwarts Charles Fisher and Richard Thompson in Migrant who won the first.


But, after that, others took control and the overall title went to Harry and Prue Roome in Skua. In second was Archon, under the direction of former America’s Cup skipper Andy Green, while


Osprey and James Hartley, Jeremy Sibthorp and Robert Sutherland came third.


In the Sunbeam, the overall title went to Fleury, helmed by Joe and Cathy Burney, who showed exceptional skill throughout.


Query and Tim Hill were second and Polly, with Nick Leach and Simon O’Hea, took the final podium spot.

Posted in Sport.